He made, she made

Dinner tonight was a joint effort between my fiance and me.  He’d been planning to barbecue some chicken breasts, so I told him I’d “come up with something” to go with them.

And that is how I get myself into stupid situations.

By the time I got home from work, I had about 0.0000000012794362% of an idea in mind.  It involved rice.  But if I didn’t come up with a plan for the rice fast, we’d be eating our barbecued chicken with bone-hard, plain white rice.  After opening the refrigerator, the cupboards, AND the freezer, I had gathered chicken stock, frozen broccoli, sharp cheddar cheese, and the ingredients to make a bechamel sauce.

I started by cooking the rice in the chicken stock.  While I left them to do their thing, I dumped some frozen broccoli florets into a mini food processor.

I’ve never used my itty bitty food processor to chop frozen veggies (or frozen anything, for that matter).  It’s probably breaking some culinary rule and I’m probably lucky I didn’t break my appliance or myself.  It took a little longer than the usual time to chop stuff, but the results were exactly what I’d hoped for!

I added the broccoli to the rice and whipped up a quick bechamel sauce.  That’s right, I whipped up a quick bechamel sauce.  Looking back on how badly my first one came out, I’m so proud that I can make such a statement!  Anyway, to the bechamel sauce I added about a quarter cup of shredded sharp cheddar, and then I stirred it into the rice.  While my fiance was outside working the grill, I sneaked a test bite of the rice.  I expected it to be okay, but not phenomenal.  It was actually pretty fantastic!  Much better than what I’d anticipated.  The only downfall was that it needed a little salt.  I’m embarrassed to admit this, but I currently have no salt in my house.

Honestly, who runs completely out of salt?

I finished the rice and got a mini grilling lesson from my fiance (more of those to follow, stay tuned……).  Between the two of us, dinner was wicked awesome.

Comment

