Company Clean

Preparing for visitors in your home is like putting on a pair of glasses for the first time.  Even though I feel like I keep my house pretty clean on a day-to-day basis, getting ready for my in-laws to visit has magnified every speck of dust, every stain on the carpet, and every slightly disorganized closet.  Does it matter that my family is very unlikely to inspect all of my closets for their cleanliness?  No.  No, it doesn’t.  It will bother me if it’s not fixed before they arrive.

I believe I inherited this mentality from my mother.  Before anyone visits her house, it must be what she calls “company clean.”  It’s like a clean house on steroids.  Luckily, since yesterday was the first day of spring, I might be able to get away with calling it “spring cleaning” and look a little less fanatical.

So I’m off to embark on a mass cleaning spree.  Happy Saturday, everyone.

Do you tend to get carried away cleaning before company arrives?

One thought on “Company Clean

  1. I’m having a cleaning day today too. I find cleaning very therapeutic. There are certain things that I clean every week, kitchen surfaces (including hob, sink etc), bathrooms, hoovering; then there are things i only clean once a month or less, such as wiping down the skirting boards, cleaning the fridge, hoovering out the dust from behind the radiators.
    You are right though, the most frenzied cleaning happens about an hour before visitors are due to arrive.
    Today I wrote a post on how I clean my fridge https://methequitter.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/the-home-makers-guide-to-cleaning/

    Liked by 1 person

Comment

