Cleaning Revelations

One of my struggles around the house is remembering all the little things that need to be cleaned. When I think cleaning, I think “big picture.” You know: mopping, vacuuming, laundry, scrubbing countertops and toilets, dusting furniture. That kind of thing.

What seems to slip my mind is the little things. For instance, my hair dryer. I never, ever, ever think about cleaning my hair dryer.

Until one day, I’m putting it away after using it, and I notice a big, thick spot of built-up grime right where my thumb sits while I hold it. Only then do I realize the whole thing is coated in rough, gray patches of sticky, aged dirt.

I’ve owned this particular hair dryer for about two years and I haven’t cleaned it even once. I use it at least six days a week. That’s a lot of use that attracts a lot of filth.

Do you ever notice things around your house you can’t remember ever cleaning? For me, the hair dryer forced me to think about all of the things I don’t clean. I consider myself to be pretty cleanly. Before the hair dryer revelation, I considered myself to be pretty cleanly.   But now all I can focus on are the light switches, picture frames, bathroom trash cans, video game controllers, towel rods, doorknobs, mini blinds, and home décor items that are ignored during my regular cleaning routine.

ICK!

I’ve seen these “house cleaning plans” online before and I think it’s time to adopt one of them. I really like this one from Gone Like Rainbows that breaks down cleaning daily, weekly, monthly, semiannually, and annually. I’m going to give it a shot!

For the record, I did clean my hair dryer. Ladies, do NOT go two years between hair dryer cleanings! Blech.

BEFORE:

dryer1.png

dryer2.png

AFTER:

dryer3.png

Do you follow a regular cleaning plan for your home or apartment? How do you typically ensure you’re cleaning all the easy-to-forget parts of your house?

One thought on “Cleaning Revelations

  1. Well, you know me – Mr. Organization Squared. I have actually made a spreadsheet that contains each section of the house, along with the areas within those sections, then clean one room completely and two sections each day (the same applies with the car). One day may be the kitchen (complete), the next day may be the master bathroom, etc. Then, my spreadsheet randomly picks two other areas, such as the outside front window and wall by the garage, or my desk, which gets a complete cleaning and re-organization. This has worked for me for ancient times. The spreadsheet is probably too complicated for most people, so I would suggest creating a list and moving through it. You can divide the different parts equally in a month, so you would have cleaned the entire house and organize it every month.

    Like

Comment

