Spaghetti Squashed Dreams

A few times a year, I go through a spaghetti squash phase. Whenever this happens, I have to find a way to make lunches out of it because my husband hates squash of all forms. When I was recently hit by the spaghetti squash bug, I decided to mix things up a bit and try it for breakfast.

When I think of breakfast, the first thing (or even second or tenth thing) that comes to mind is not squash. But I found this post on Oh Sweet Mercy with instructions for squash browns—essentially, hash browns made out of spaghetti squash. I had to try it out.

The post emphasizes the importance of patting the squash dry prior to forming and frying the squash patties. I dropped a heap of squash onto a plate and sopped up as much liquid as I could with a few paper towels. I made the squash as dry as possible until the towels began sticking to it and tearing off in soggy shreds.

IMG_0941

I placed a perfectly formed, and lightly salted and peppered, squash brown patty in a preheated skillet. Several minutes later, I nervously flipped it over. To my surprise, it only partially fell apart! Using the spatula, I pushed the loose strands back into the patty and let it cook several minutes before flipping it again.

IMG_0948

This time, more than half of it came apart. Drat! I tried my damnedest to salvage the beauty of the squash brown, but to no avail. What I ended up with was simply a plate full of fried spaghetti squash that, I might add, never even truly browned on the outside.

IMG_0949

And sad fact: I don’t enjoy the taste of spaghetti squash at 7 a.m.

In the end, I reverted back to my usual breakfast and have been eating spaghetti squash for lunch every day this week. At least it wasn’t a complete waste…

What fun is cooking if you don’t at least try new things, anyhow?

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squashed Dreams

  1. Hi Hope! Thanks for stopping by my blog and trying my recipe. I’m so sorry it didn’t turn out for you! I also tried paper towels the first few times I made them and also had bits of paper towel sticking to the squash. Yuck. Now I squeeze the heck out of the squash with my bare hands and that has worked better. Also had a friend tell me that using a ricer to gently squeeze the liquid out works great, but I have yet to try that.

    I generally don’t flip it more than once, twice tops. I’m kind of impatient and don’t want to wait for stuff to brown, but make myself anyway when I make these, they work so much better that way!

    You can also just make loose “hash browns” by not forming patties. I also like to make hash with leftover meats and veggies and spaghetti squash. But then I love spaghetti squash any time of day 🙂

    Anyway, just wanted to stop by and say thanks for trying it. Wish you would have had a better experience!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting, Dawn! I have to admit, I do get a little impatient when browning things like this. In this case, I felt like it had been half an hour on that first side, even though I know it was only a fraction of that time! I might actually try these again with my lunch one day soon, as I still think they sound delicious and I’m sure it will get better with practice. 🙂

      Like

Comment

