Roasted Garlic White Bean Hummus: An Addict’s Tale

My name is Hope, and I am addicted to hummus. At a job a few years back, I became known around the office as the “hummus girl,” and at my job now, I was recently asked if I ever eat anything for lunch other than hummus spread on something. (The answer was no.)

When I got my first food processor about a year ago, it seemed absurd to not make some homemade hummus. Does that mean I got straight to the hummus-makin’? Ha! No!

I have no excuse. Well, I have several of them, but none that truly justify why I wasted a year of opportunities for homemade hummus. Long story short, two days ago I finally made my own hummus!

White bean hummus is probably my favorite. I’m especially fond of the Eat Well Embrace Life brand. If you like hummus and you haven’t tried this brand (they make several kinds—traditional, white bean, black bean, carrot, beet…the list goes on), you are truly missing out on one of the best things on the planet. Back to the point: I chose a roasted garlic white bean hummus recipe from Betty Crocker.

I’ve never roasted garlic before. I have roasted all kinds of veggies, so I knew the garlic would be simple enough. What I didn’t know was how strange a bulb of garlic looks when you slice off the very top. In fact, it seriously creeped me out. Somehow it reminds me of bugs—don’t ask me to explain this, it’s just my perception. And it creeped the shit out of me. I took a moment to collect myself and then I moved on and got the hideous thing into the oven.

IMG_0808

IMG_0811

IMG_0814

Once the garlic was roasted, the recipe instructed to “squeeze” the cloves out of the bulb. Holy hot oily mess, Batman! I struggled with this one a bit. When I wasn’t burning myself (despite giving the garlic time to cool down), I was wiping up the oil that was continuously trickling down my arm.

IMG_0820

IMG_0822

IMG_0825

Okay, at this point I’m just whining because everything else was a breeze, and I don’t want you to think this is becoming a cakewalk for me. Mmmmm, cake…

I’m sorry to have to break it to Eat Well Embrace Life, but there’s a chance I won’t be purchasing much store-bought hummus anymore. This homemade stuff is DELICIOUS!

IMG_0831

IMG_0832

Do you have any favorite hummus recipes? Please share them in the comments so I can feed my NEW addiction!

Comment

