Stir fry from scratch

I LOVE stir fry.  My parents made a lot of it when I was growing up and it was, hands down, one of my favorite things to eat.

I’ve made my own stir fry a handful of times, but it has always been as easy as a package of frozen stir-fry vegetables, a jar of chicken gravy, some rice, and a splash of soy sauce.

Yesterday, while everyone else in America was grilling it up, I got the most random hankering for some chicken stir fry.  But given the effort I’ve put into my cooking skills these past few months, pouring pre-made gravy over frozen veggies seemed too elementary.

So, last night I made a quick trip to the grocery store to buy a red bell pepper and some ginger root.  Everything else in my stir fry was made using things I already had on hand in my kitchen.  The best part is, I did this all without a recipe.

I started some rice while I cooked the chicken in a little bit of vegetable oil.  Once the chicken was no longer pink on the outside, I added chopped onion, chopped red bell pepper, broccoli florets (okay, I confess, these were frozen…but it was what I had on hand!), minced garlic, and some freshly grated ginger.  Fun fact:  this was my first time purchasing and using fresh ginger.  Could that stuff smell any better?!

Meanwhile, in another pan I made a roux with some butter and flour and added a mixture of chicken broth and soy sauce.  The sauce took a little longer to thicken than it has when I’ve used milk, so I started to get a little nervous.  But about ten minutes later, the sauce was thick and bubbly and it was the perfect amount to mix in with the chicken and veggies.  I made sure to give it several taste tests as it thickened, so there was no doubt in my mind that it would be yummy!

…..which it was.  SO yummy.  I have to give myself a pat on the back for this stir fry!

3 thoughts on “Stir fry from scratch

    • I know fish sauce is really common in Chinese dishes, but I admit I’m a little closed-minded about it. For someone who can’t stand seafood (you’ll notice you never see me cook the stuff!), it’s not something I particularly care for!

      Like

Comment

