Lovely little loaves

LOOK at this!

When I first found this recipe for individual cheddar meatloaves, I thought: Little blobs of baked meat?  I can do that!  But what ended up happening was that I spent more than the necessary amount of time sculpting the raw meat.  I wouldn’t allow myself to put them into the oven if they were too lumpy on top or too non-proportionate in shape.   Here were my little darlings once they finally met my standards:

But they weren’t ready to bake just yet.  Included in the recipe was a ketchup/brown sugar/mustard glaze.  I was pretty giddy about the glaze because I recently purchased my first silicone basting brush!  (Woah, was that too much excitement for you?!)  Really, though, I should have acquired one long ago.  Until now, I’d been using the back of a spoon to do my basting/coating/glazing, and it was reallllllllly ineffective and quite messy.

I was also pretty anal about the amount and evenness of the glaze on each of the loaves.  And when it came time to plate the suckers, you can bet I was very particular about that too.  It was during this process that it hit me:  I’m becoming a snob about the appearance of my food.  My lack of stupidity in the kitchen lately has caused me to worry about more petty matters, like how my meatloaf and my green beans look together on my plate for the whole ten seconds it takes to carry it to the table and dig into it like it’s an archaeological project.

Oh well.  At least I’m not ruining shit.

2 thoughts on “Lovely little loaves

  1. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog!

    We are a team of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.

    You have done a marvellous job!

    Like

Comment

