Creamy Pasta with Spinach and Kielbasa

Well, butter my butt and call me a biscuit.  Ladies and gents, I’ve pulled it off!  I envisioned a recipe of my own creation and for the first time, it came out EXACTLY like I was hoping it would.  Ohmyfreakinggoodness, I’m beaming with pride.  I have no idea what to call it, so I’ve dubbed it “Creamy Pasta with Spinach and Kielbasa.”  Okay, if I continue down this path of creating my own recipes, the names are going to need some work.  But for now, the obvious will have to do.

Here it is.  My pride and joy.

Some of you are probably skeptical.  Pictures can be deceiving, right?  My fiance says this was delicious–yes, he used the word “delicious” in regards to my cooking.  So for any non-believers, here is the recipe.  Try it out.  I promise that it won’t make you gag.

Ingredients:
-8 oz. dry linguine
-1/2 cup chopped onion
-2 cloves minced garlic
-1 cup finely chopped fresh spinach
-13 oz. turkey kielbasa, sliced into bite-sized chunks (or kielbasa of your choice, but I recommend the turkey)
-2 tbsp. butter
-2 tbsp. flour
-1 1/2 cups whole milk
-1 tsp. Italian seasoning
-Salt and pepper
-Cooking spray

1)  Cook pasta according to package directions.

2)  Spray a large skillet with cooking spray.  On medium-high heat, saute the onion and the garlic for 2 minutes.  Add the kielbasa pieces and cook 2-3 minutes or just until they begin to darken on the outside.

3)  Add the spinach to the skillet and cook about a minute, until it begins to wilt.  Transfer the onion, garlic, kielbasa, and spinach to a bowl and reduce heat to medium.  Return the skillet to the burner.

4)  Add the butter to the skillet.  Once it has melted, add the flour and whisk until it has formed a roux.  Stir in the milk, and continue to stir until the mixture is thick and bubbly.  Add the Italian seasoning and salt and pepper to taste.

5)  Return the onion, garlic, kielbasa, and spinach to the skillet; stir them together with the sauce.

6)  Drain the pasta and add it to the sauce.  Stir until everything is well combined.  Serve, and enjoy!

 

(Below:  random butter picture.  Because who doesn’t start drooling at the sight of sizzling, melting butter?)

4 thoughts on “Creamy Pasta with Spinach and Kielbasa

  1. I’m sorry. I may have to steal “butter my butt and call me a biscuit.” If you hear it again from someone else it probably cam from me. I apologize in advance. *love* 😉

    Like

  2. Tried this recipe today, except I tried to lighten it up a bit by changing out one cup of milk for beef broth, omitted the butter, and just mixed the flour in with the 1/2 cup milk. We all really enjoyed it!

    Like

Comment

