Pinterest-free week, day four: Chicken Tetrazzini

I’ve been wanting to make Chicken Tetrazzini (sans mushrooms) for some time now.  Last night, I pulled chicken out to thaw so I could make it tonight.  Then, on somewhat short notice, it was decided that my mom would be joining my fiance and me for dinner.

Cue the suspenseful music.

I fretted about it all day.  I thought at least a dozen times of making something else, something I’d be less likely to ruin.  Finally, I settled on making the Chicken Tetrazzini and I promised my mom I’d buy her a hamburger if it didn’t turn out well.

When she arrived at my house, she was horribly stoked that I was cooking her dinner.  In case you’re wondering, yes, my mother reads my blog.  She knew what she was getting herself into.

Anyhow, this is how things started:  two minutes after my mom arrived, she watched me dump a tenth of a box of pasta directly onto the floor.  Ten minutes later, as I juggled the tasks of stirring the pasta, cooking the chicken, and whisking the sauce, from the dining room she heard nothing but me mumbling, “Okay, it’s okay, this is still salvageable.”  This was uttered when I discovered, after nearly burning my green onions and butter, that I had been sauteeing them on high heat instead of medium.

There were a few more little hiccups along the way, but I finally got the pan in the oven so it could bake for 15 minutes.  This is where I got REALLY nervous.  After all, my last attempt at baking long pasta was a big flop.  Knowing that my mom, a truly GREAT cook, was going to be eating this Chicken Tetrazzini, I was superbly anxious to see how it turned out.

Fifteen minutes later:

To my great relief, when we dished it up, it was nice and gooey, just like a creamy pasta dish should be.

The best part (oooooo, I’m going to squeal just thinking about it):  my mom, my fiance, and I all thought it was delicious!  Ohmygod it was so stinking good.  So good, in fact, that I had to take this picture:

Here’s the thing with Chicken Tetrazzini.  I’d held off on making it in the past because I was looking at recipes online and on Pinterest, and they all made it seem more complicated than it really is.  None of the online recipes I read made it look like something I could pull off.  What encouraged me to make it was the recipe I found in my Better Homes & Gardens cookbook (they should really start paying me to market that sucker).  I couldn’t believe how easy it was to follow.  And look what it got me?  THREE CLEAN PLATES!

4 thoughts on “Pinterest-free week, day four: Chicken Tetrazzini

Comment

