Pinterest-free week day three: Grilled cheddar & roast beef

You know how some children are held back a grade in school because they don’t quite meet the expectations of their grade level?  Well, that’s kind of how I felt when I made dinner tonight.  I reverted back to the kindergarten equivalency of cooking:  grilled cheese sandwiches.  Have I ever mentioned that I can make a MEAN grilled cheese sandwich?  My mom will attest to it.  She’s been known to make special requests for my grilled cheese sandwiches.

Part of my culinary journey is to continuously branch out and try new things, so tonight I shook up my usual grilled cheese recipe.  I used sharp cheddar cheese (oooooooo!) and sliced roast beef (ahhhhhhhh!).  Okay, so the people who can make beef Wellington, coq au vin, and souffles are yawning or wiping away tears of laughter.  But hey, it’s a rare opportunity to give myself just a smidgen of praise.

So the good news:  my fiance and I were both able to eat all of our dinner tonight.

 

3 thoughts on “Pinterest-free week day three: Grilled cheddar & roast beef

Comment

