Pinterest-free week, day one: Taco salad

I will never learn to cook as long as I keep using Pinterest.

This is my prediction, at least.  I’ve been thinking long and hard about my use of Pinterest for recipes.  Almost all of the cooking I’ve documented so far on this blog has resulted from recipes I found on Pinterest.  And nothing against the people whose recipes are circulated on the website, but I’m truly starting to believe they are detrimental to novice cooks.  They’re not designed for people who don’t know what they’re doing.  They offer no method of coaching a brainless cook through the tasks they might not understand.  Therefore, I am dubbing this week “Pinterest-free week.”  This week, the majority of what I’ve planned to cook comes straight out of my Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook.  I chose this book because it is, without a doubt, written for people who haven’t mastered the ropes of cooking.

I started off Pinterest-free week with a simple recipe for taco salad.  I’ve been feeling bad about the flavorless food I’ve put on the table this week, so I chose something easy to make and hard to screw up.  There truly aren’t many good, hearty meals that are simpler to prepare; nevertheless, I’ve never before made a taco salad, so it was still new to me.  I started with browning some ground pork.  Easy peasy; I could do it with my eyes closed!

Then I added kidney beans, taco sauce, and corn.  No sweat!

While that simmered, I chopped some veggies–lettuce, tomatoes, and green onion–and set out some tortilla chips and shredded cheddar cheese. I opted to go with a “build your own salad” setup because my fiance and I differ on our salad preferences.

And with that, ladies and gentlemen, dinner was done!  It was delicious as all get out.

I’m feeling really good about my Pinterest-free week.  My inner chef can only stay in hiding for so long…

7 thoughts on “Pinterest-free week, day one: Taco salad

    • Thank you! I am now following your blog and I look forward to trying out some of your recipes! I especially want to try the Hazelnut Praline Sweet Potatoes, though I’m quite sure I need some more practice in the kitchen before I can pull it off. 😉

      Like

      • Thanks for following my blog! I look forward to getting to know you. You picked an easy recipe to try. You just have to be carfeul not to burn the praline as it cooks. 🙂

        Like

Comment

