This is how I roll

My fiance’s poor 8-year-old son has been a victim of some of my recent (bad) cooking adventures, so tonight I aimed for something a little more “kid-friendly.”  I decided to make these Pepperoni Pizza Rolls.

I’ll admit up front that spreading dough is an area in which I very badly need to improve.  This recipe doesn’t instruct you to “spread” dough, but it requires a fair amount of flattening biscuit dough.  I planned to make 15 pizza rolls tonight, so I gave myself plenty of prep time in anticipation that I would spend a minute or twenty fighting with the dough.

I recently gave birth to this idea that if I film myself doing some of the things I suck at, maybe I can use the videos as an opportunity to tweak or improve my technique.  So tonight, I set up my camera and filmed Pizza Roll Attempt #1–this first attempt took almost two minutes.

From Pizza Roll Attempt #1, I learned that I didn’t flatten the dough enough and that I piled on too much cheese.  As a result, when I tried to close up the pizza roll, I had a little mini-battle.  I got a little better with each one, and around Pizza Roll Attempt #10, I had cut in half the total time to complete each roll.

I didn’t necessarily learn anything from watching these two videos, but it was kind of neat to see the transformation of my abilities after I’d had a little practice.  Corny as it sounds, it was symbolic of my cooking journey as a whole.

A proud moment emerged when my fiance’s son entered the kitchen and, after observing me for a minute, asked if he could help me make some pizza rolls.  I was slightly unnerved at first; after all, I’m about the LEAST qualified person to teach a child how to cook anything!  But I walked him through a pizza roll, step-by-step, and he did wonderfully.  So we finished them up together and let me tell you, we ROCKED!

Since these pizza rolls were so simple, I was brave enough to experiment a little with the ingredients.  Since my fiance and his son don’t care for Gorgonzola (as I recently learned the hard way), I filled some of my pizza rolls with Gorgonzola, spinach, Parmesan, and pepperoni.  Delicious!

Comment

