Creamy Spicy Chicken Pitas

It’s been an eventful week for this lil’ chef!  I made blackened chicken for the first time, which nearly caused my fiance and I to suffocate from smoke inhalation (this isn’t normal, is it?).  I also cooked–and tasted–quinoa for the first time and LOVED it.  I attempted to make lemon-honey chicken, but the honey all dripped off in the oven and we ended up, once again, dipping plain chicken breast into barbecue sauce.  I watched a video on how to cut a mango and failed to replicate anything the video showed me.  And on top of it all, I was finishing up my final projects for the end of the spring semester.  Now that I have a 3-month break from school, I’m hoping I can really spend some time focusing on my cooking.

I hadn’t planned anything for dinner tonight and around 5 o’clock, I was feeling really indecisive about what to make.  I ended up at the grocery store with a vision in my head of some sort of Mexican chicken pitas.  I had no recipe–just an idea that I went with as I wandered the aisles of the supermarket.  What I didn’t expect was how good they actually tasted!  In fact, they were so good I feel confident in sharing the recipe.

Creamy Spicy Chicken Pita

Creamy Spicy Chicken Pitas (Serves 2)

Ingredients:
2 chicken breasts, thinly sliced
1/2 cup onion, chopped
2 tablespoons poblano pepper, finely chopped
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 tablespoon fresh cilantro, finely chopped
3 tablespoons taco seasoning
2 tablespoons avocado
2 tablespoons sour cream
1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
2 pita pockets
Water (for the taco seasoning)

1)  Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Add onion, pepper, and cilantro and saute for about 1-2 minutes.
2)  While the vegetables are cooking, mix together the avocado and sour cream in a small bowl.  Set aside.
3)  Add chicken to skillet and cook until no longer pink.  Add taco seasoning and 2 tablespoons of water and continue to cook until thickened.
4)  Spread the avocado-sour cream mixture inside a pita half.  Sprinkle with your desired amount of cheddar cheese.  Add the chicken mixture and enjoy!

Comment

