Me cook yummy one day

I’m almost 27 years old and I’m finally learning how to cook.

Key word:  “learning.”

Though my intentions are good and my will is strong, I am about as talented in the kitchen as an armless person is at swimming.  In a nutshell, this is me:  I have a knack for overcooking and undercooking, I dirty 18 dishes for one meal when three would have sufficed, I get flustered when I have to cook multiple things at once, and–most importantly–I’m afraid to step out of my comfort zone.  Terms like al denteemulsion, and compote scare the bejesus out of me.  I stay far away from anything that involves bacon–not because I don’t like bacon, but because I’ve never cooked it.  Anything breaded is a guaranteed disaster.  And then there’s meat…

Meat is my worst enemy.  For the longest time my rule was, If it’s not charred, it’s not cooked all the way.  I have a phobia of undercooked meat, which means I often cook meat until it’s dry and tasteless.  Only once in a blue moon do I brave cooking any meat other than chicken and ground beef, because I’m afraid I’ll ruin it out of fear of preparing it wrong.  I get nervous just purchasing meat I’ve never cooked, so imagine what I’m like behind the stove.

Truth is, even though I have a lot of learning to do, I’ve developed a passion for cooking and I’ll be damned if I don’t become an admirable chef.  To do this, I have made a promise to myself:  to step out of my comfort zone and learn something new about cooking each week.  I will document my experiences here as I teach myself to be a great cook by overcoming my culinary fears.

As children, we had to learn the ropes of life through our experiences.  Reading, writing, riding a bike, tying our shoes, washing our hair.  Embarking on this adventure, I feel like a child.  I’m going into it with little knowledge, but I plan to laugh and cry through my fair share of failures and successes until it becomes as simple as tying my shoes.  Me cook yummy one day!

4 thoughts on “Me cook yummy one day

  1. One way I get over my fear of under-cooking meats (especially chicken and steaks): I simply think about how animals in nature eat all that stuff raw and wet and nasty and yet they seem healthy enough…

    Like

  2. I love your writing style! I am sure you did not learn to write in one day, so cooking will slowly but surely become more accessible. I went through something similar a few years back.
    Cheers,
    Natasha @ Come Due Maiali
    P.S. You must be a Sedaris fan; so am I.

    Like

  3. @ Come Due Maiali: Thank you! I definitely have some work ahead of me, but I’m determined. And yes, Sedaris is one of my writing idols. Glad you caught that! 🙂

    Like

Comment

